Tuesday, February 1, 2011

Caribbean Series Preview

The Caribbean Series starts tomorrow in Mayaguez, Puerto Rico and the Dominican Republic is represented by the LIDOM champions, the Toros de la Romana.  The Toros and their reinforcements will be facing the winners of the winter leagues in Mexico, Venezuela, and Puerto Rico.

The Dominican Republic is the defending champion, as Escogido won the series last year.  The Dominican Republic has also won the event 18 times in the 52 years it has been played, which is the most of any country.

MLB.com has a nice preview that you can see here.  Also, Bruce Baskin did a nice job of scouting reports at his Baseball Mexico website and you can see those scouting reports here.

The series is a double round robin event, so each team plays each other two times, and the team with the best record is declared the winner.  The opening game is tomorrow at 3pm EST and features the Dominican team versus Mexico.
The Caribbean Series 2011 Schedule (all times EST)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...